About Us

The Queensland Country Press Association was established in 1908 to promote the business interests, harmony and prosperity of its members. Our members include more than 30 newspapers across Queensland from Tully in the north, Longreach to the west and with a large coverage of members in the heavily populated south east.

Our Mission

The mission of the Queensland Country Press Association is to advance the welfare of its member newspapers so that, as a strong, representative, responsible media, they may best serve the communities they represent.

The Association is governed by a biennially elected Executive Committee, drawn from members, who meet every three months to determine the strategic imperatives of the Association.

2016 - 2017 Executive Committee

President: Ted Rogers Clifton Courier
Vice President: Samantha Wantling, Stanthorpe Border Post
Secretary/Treasurer: Greg Watson Life Member

Executive:   Linda Tait Longreach Leader;  John Schmidt Pittsworth Sentinel; Heatley Gilmore Hinterland Times; Nick Inmon Rural Weekly/ Western Star; Ann Lomas High Country Herald;  Phill Le Petit Noosa Today; Mark Hodgson Life Member

Trustees: Mark Hodgson Life Member; Peter Lewis Life Member